Environmental Action and DeSmog Blog both got this already, but it’s too hilarious to pass up:

The American Association of Petroleum Geologists presented their annual journalism award to … wait for it … Michael Crichton.

Yes, this Michael Crichton.

What’s a satirist to do?

Grist thanks its sponsors. Become one.

Reader support helps sustain our work. Donate today to keep our climate news free.