Skip to content
Grist home
Support nonprofit news

Grist is a nonprofit, independent media organization dedicated to telling stories of climate solutions and a just future. Our goal is to use the power of storytelling to illuminate the way toward a better world, inspire millions of people to walk that path with us, and show that the time for action is now.

Nikhil Swaminathan | CEO

Natasha Berman | Chief Operating Officer

Lydia Middleton | Special Assistant to the CEO


Tristan Ahtone | Editor at Large

Clayton Aldern | Senior Data Reporter

L.V. Anderson | News Editor

Gabriela Aoun Angueira | Climate Solutions Writer

Lyric Aquino | Indigenous Affairs Fellow

Amelia Bates | Senior Designer

Katherine Bagley | Executive Editor

Jake Bittle | Staff Writer

Siri Chilukuri | Environmental Justice Fellow

Teresa Chin | Deputy Editor

Matt Craft | Senior Editor

Max Graham | Food and Agriculture Fellow

Akielly Hu | News and Politics Fellow

Emily Jones | Reporter, Georgia

Tushar Khurana | Data Fellow

Katherine Lanpher | Senior Editor

Katie Myers | Climate Solutions Fellow

Jesse Nichols | Video Producer

Daniel Penner | Senior Video Producer

Maria Parazo Rose | Spatial Data Analyst

Naveena Sadasivam | Senior Staff Writer

Zoya Teirstein | Staff Writer

John Thomason | Features Editor

Joseph Winters | Reporter

Kate Yoder | Staff Writer

Lylla Younes | Senior Staff Writer


Rachel Bouton | Senior Manager, Networks and Events

Jaime Buerger | Managing Editor

Lisa Jurras-Buchanan | Co-Director

Joshua Kimelman | Project Coordinator

Chuck Squatriglia | Senior Editor

Jessica Stahl | Co-Director

Tory Stephens | Climate Fiction Creative Manager and Network Weaver

Claire Thompson | Associate Editor

Mia Torres | Editorial Designer

Innovation & Growth

Angelica Arinze | Audience Producer

Jason Castro | Digital Producer, Audience

Rachel Glickhouse | Senior Manager of Content Partnerships

Mignon Khargie | Art Director

Megan Merrigan | Interim Director of Innovation and Growth


Jess Alvarado-Lepine | Director, Membership

Alexandra Comer | Development Manager

Jeff Giza-Martin | Salesforce & ESP Administrator

Pat Schmitt | Director, Development

Michelle Thompson | Foundation Relations Officer

Brian Troyer | Senior Manager, Business Development


Ayesha Pacholke | Senior Human Resources Advisor

Bekah Cardwell | Director of Finance

Marijo “MJ” Mendoza | HR Manager

The Uproot Project

Lucia Priselac | Director, The Uproot Project

Nora O’Brian | Operations Associate

Sofia Prado Huggins | Audience Engagement Associate for Uproot

Board of Directors

John Alderman | CEO, CarCare To Go

Susan Chira | Editor-in-Chief, the Marshall Project

Michelle DePass | President, DePass Paulson Advisors

Chip Giller | Founder, Grist

C’Ardiss Gardner Gleser | Philanthropy Consultant, Black Ivy Collective

Kristen Grimm | President of Spitfire

Elise Hu | Co-founder, Reasonable Volume

Susan L. Kaufman | Susan L. Kaufman Consulting

Donna Moodie | EVP, Community Roots Housing and Owner, Marjorie’s Restaurant

Rachel Morello-Frosch | Professor, Department of Environmental Science, Policy and Management &
School of Public Health

Julian Brave NoiseCat | Writer

Kavita Ramdas | Consultant and Philanthropic Advisor

Nikhil Swaminathan | CEO, Grist

John Vechey | Pluto VR and PopCap Games

Brady Piñero Walkinshaw | CEO, Earth Alliance


Don Chen | President, Surdna Foundation

Bill McKibben | Author and Activist

Wendy Schmidt | President, Schmidt Family Foundation

Eugene Mirman | Writer and Comedian

Dr. Benjamin Strauss | CEO & Chief Scientist, Climate Central


Chip Giller | Founder, Grist