Jump to Awards and Accolades and Pressroom Archives

For media inquiries, please contact us.

Recent Highlights

NPR — November 4, 2019

Naveena Sadasivam appears on NPR’s 1A to discuss her investigation into the coal industry with the Texas Tribune

CBS — May 12, 2019

Grist politics writer Zoya Teirstein appears on CBS to discuss the Green New Deal

Fast Company — March 12, 2019

Fast Company highlights Grist’s annual list of emerging sustainability leaders, the Grist 50

MSNBC — January 11, 2019

Grist’s coverage of youth climate strikes appears on MSNBC with Chris Hayes

Bon Appetit — March 25, 2019

Eve Andrews advises Bon Appetit readers on how to break their plastic habit

PBS — February 8, 2019

Staff writer Nathanael Johnson joined Steve Curwood on PBS’s Living on Earth to discuss wildfire management in his hometown of Nevada City, California

More from 2019

October 9, 2019Grist brings on Lisa Garcia, former EPA Assistant Administrator and SVP at EarthJustice, as the new director of Grist’s solutions lab, Fix. See the press release.

July 8, 2019 — Grist CEO Brady Piñero Walkinshaw spoke about the race to define the Green New Deal on the podcast America Adapts

June 12, 2019 — Justine Calma discusses the link between e-commerce pollution and infant mortality in San Bernadino, on the podcast Living Downstream, Latino Rebels Radio, Capital and Main, and the Political Climate Podcast

June 11, 2019 — Zoya Teirstein appears on the Reversing Climate Change podcast to discuss the Democratic primary field

June 7, 2019 — Eve Andrews speaks with Planet Philadelphia about the connection between feminism and the environment

June 5, 2019 — Staff writer Naveena Sadasivam spoke with Dave Ross of KIRO Seattle Morning News about the aggressive prosecution of oil pipeline protesters

March 21, 2019 — Grist senior editor Matt Craft joins Seattle Town Hall’s podcast In the Moment to discuss the climate disruption he’s witnessed firsthand across the world

March 14, 2019 — Grist contributor Eric Holthaus speaks to WNYC’s The Takeaway about the youth climate protests staged around the world

March 14, 2019 — Zoya Teirstein discusses the recent swell of youth climate activism with the Green Divas Politics Podcast

March 6, 2019 — Grist contributor Margiana Petersen-Rockney tells Jefferson Public Radio how the future of water and the future of agriculture struggle to co-exist at a Northern California ranch

February 11, 2019 — Staff writer Justine Calma discusses the state of the Green New Deal in the House of Representatives on Upfront from KPFA Radio


Awards and Accolades

  • Ranked the No. 1 Top Urban Planning Website 2014 by Global Site Plans’ The Grid
  • 7 Billion Unpacked honored for 2012 Best Cartoon/Comic by The Population Institute
  • Chip Giller, recipient of a 2009 Heinz Award
  • Winner of 2006 National Conservation Achievement Award from the National Wildlife Federation
  • Winner of 2006 “Webby” People’s Voice Award for best online magazine
  • Winner of 2005 Utne Independent Press Award for online political coverage
  • Winner of 2005 “Webby” People’s Voice Award for best online magazine
  • Named “outstanding website” in the 2005 WebAward Competition
  • Winner of 2003 Utne Independent Press Award for online political coverage
  • Grist and Chip Giller won first place (by popular vote) in the 2001 AlterNet New Media Hero contest
  • Society of Environmental Journalists named Grist a finalist for outstanding online coverage in the 1st Annual Awards for Reporting on the Environment
  • Named ”Favorite Beacon in the Smog” by Good Things