If, as widely expected, the Dems take the House tonight, it will represent a fundamental shift in power in D.C. A big part of that will be control over key committees. Here are the main green-related committees, and the House member who stands to take over in a Dem-controlled House:

Committee on Agriculture
Currently chaired by Bob Goodlatte (R-Va.)
Ranking minority member is Collin Peterson (D-Minn.)

Committee on Appropriations
Currently chaired by Jerry Lewis (R-Calif.)
Ranking minority member is David Obey (D-Wis.)

Committee on Energy and Commerce
Currently chaired by Joe Barton (R-Texas)
Ranking minority member is John D. Dingell (D-Mich.)

Grist thanks its sponsors. Become one.

Committee on Resources
Currently chaired by Richard Pombo (R-Calif.)
Ranking minority member is Nick Rahall (D-W.Va.)

Committee on Science
Currently chaired by Sherwood Boehlert (R-N.Y.)
Ranking minority member is Bart Gordon (D-Tenn.)

Transportation and Infrastructure
Currently chaired by Don Young (R-Alaska)
Ranking minority member is James Oberstar (D-Minn.)

Reader support helps sustain our work. Donate today to keep our climate news free. All donations DOUBLED!

Grist thanks its sponsors. Become one.