So say nearly 50 enviro, business, anti-nuclear, sustainable-energy, and energy-policy groups in response to Bush’s recent claim that nuclear power is “a renewable source of energy.”

Here, a letter these groups sent today to the Nuke Lobbyist in Chief:

January 26, 2005

President George W. Bush
The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20500

Grist thanks its sponsors. Become one.

Dear Mr. President:

In a recent interview with the Wall Street Journal, you were quoted as saying that nuclear power “is a renewable source of energy.”

Please be advised that nuclear power is not a renewable source of energy.

For that matter, oil, coal, and natural gas are also not renewable sources of energy.

Grist thanks its sponsors. Become one.

Nuclear power and fossil fuels are environmentally polluting and non-renewable sources of energy.

The primary renewable sources of energy are biofuels, biomass, geothermal, hydropower, solar, and wind.


Reader support helps sustain our work. Donate today to keep our climate news free.

(Cylvia Hayes, Executive Director)

Alliance for Affordable Energy
(Micah Walker Parkin)

Arizona Solar Center, Inc.
(Daniel Peter Aiello, Chair)

Arizona Solar Energy Association
(Chuck Skidmore)

Bob Lawrence & Associations
(Bob Lawrence, President)

Burlington Electric Department
(Mary Sullivan, Communications Coordinator)

Chesapeake Climate Action Network
(Mike Tidwell, Director)

Citizen Power
(David Hughes, Executive Director)

Citizens Utility Board of Wisconsin
(Charlie Higley, Executive Director)

Clean Air Council
(Thurman Brendlinger)

Colorado Energy Group
(George Burmeister)

Colorado Renewable Energy Society
(Kimberly Peterson, Secretary)

Donald Aitken Associates
(Donald W. Aitken, Ph.D.)

EORenew (Eastern Oregon Renewable Energies Non-profit)
(Jennifer Barker)

Eco Living Fellowship, Inc.
(Dr. Michael Skelly, Sr., President)

Energy Innovation
(Steve Chadima)

Environmental Resources Trust
(Alden Hathaway – Director, EcoPower Programs)

Friends of the Earth
(Erich Pica)

Global Green U.S.A.
(Matt Petersen)

Global Possibilities
(Casey Coates Danson, President/Founder; Carolyn Ward, Managing Director)

(John Coequyt, Jim Riccio, Nuclear Policy Analyst)
<>, <>

Hawaii Solar Energy Association (HSEA)
(Rick Reed, President)

Local Government Commission
(Judy Corbett)

Local 103 I.B.E.W.
(Martin E. Aikens, Business Agent)

Maine Solar Energy Association
(Richard Komp PhD. President)

Mainstay Energy
(Hoyt Hudson, CEO)

MD-DC-VA Solar Energy Industries Association
(Peter Lowenthal)

Minnesotans for an Energy-Efficient Economy
(J. Drake Hamilton, Science Policy Director)

North Carolina Sustainable Energy Association
(Richard/Lonna Harkrader)

Northeast Energy Efficiency Partnerships
(Susan E. Coakley, Executive Director)

Northwest Energy Coalition
(Nancy Hirsh)

Nuclear Information & Resource Service
(Michael Mariotte)

Quality Solar
(Claudia Wentworth)

Redwood Alliance
(Michael Welch)

Renewable Energy Long Island (RELI)
(Gordian Raacke)

RENEW Wisconsin
(Michael Vickerman, Executive Director)

San Luis Sustainability Group Architects
(Ken Haggard)

Solar Energy International (SEI)
(Johnny Weiss, Executive Director)

The Stella Group, Ltd.
(Scott Sklar, President)
(Rona Fried)

Sustainable Energy and Economic Development (SEED) Coalition
(Karen Hadden, Executive Director)

Vermont Energy Investment Corporation
(Beth Sachs)

Voices Opposed To Environmental Racism
(Donald Keesing)

The Vote Solar Initiative
(David Hochschild)

(Lisa Daniels, Executive Director)

Wisconsin Energy Conservation Corporation
(Janet Brandt, Executive Director)

Wisconsin Green Building Alliance
(Constance A. Lindholm, Executive Director)

Women in Sustainable Energy (WISE)
(Kimberly Peterson)