So say nearly 50 enviro, business, anti-nuclear, sustainable-energy, and energy-policy groups in response to Bush’s recent claim that nuclear power is “a renewable source of energy.”

Here, a letter these groups sent today to the Nuke Lobbyist in Chief:

January 26, 2005

President George W. Bush
The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear Mr. President:

In a recent interview with the Wall Street Journal, you were quoted as saying that nuclear power “is a renewable source of energy.”

Please be advised that nuclear power is not a renewable source of energy.

For that matter, oil, coal, and natural gas are also not renewable sources of energy.

Nuclear power and fossil fuels are environmentally polluting and non-renewable sources of energy.

The primary renewable sources of energy are biofuels, biomass, geothermal, hydropower, solar, and wind.

Sincerely,

3EStrategies
(Cylvia Hayes, Executive Director)
<info@3estrategies.org>

Alliance for Affordable Energy
(Micah Walker Parkin)
<mwalker@all4energy.org>

Arizona Solar Center, Inc.
(Daniel Peter Aiello, Chair)
<J2EnvArch@aol.com>

Arizona Solar Energy Association
(Chuck Skidmore)
<cskidmore@scottsdaleaz.gov>

Bob Lawrence & Associations
(Bob Lawrence, President)
<boblaw424@aol.com>

Burlington Electric Department
(Mary Sullivan, Communications Coordinator)
<MSullivan@burlingtonelectric.com>

Chesapeake Climate Action Network
(Mike Tidwell, Director)
<Mwtidwell@aol.com>

Citizen Power
(David Hughes, Executive Director)
<hughes@citizenpower.com>

Citizens Utility Board of Wisconsin
(Charlie Higley, Executive Director)
<higley@wiscub.org>

Clean Air Council
(Thurman Brendlinger)
<brendlinger@cleanair.org>

Colorado Energy Group
(George Burmeister)
<COEnergyGroup@aol.com>

Colorado Renewable Energy Society
(Kimberly Peterson, Secretary)
<kimberly_peterson@yahoo.com>

Donald Aitken Associates
(Donald W. Aitken, Ph.D.)
<donaldaitken@earthlink.net>

EORenew (Eastern Oregon Renewable Energies Non-profit)
(Jennifer Barker)
<info@solwest.org>

Eco Living Fellowship, Inc.
(Dr. Michael Skelly, Sr., President)
<ecoliving@yahoo.com>

Energy Innovation
(Steve Chadima)
<steve@energyinnovations.com>

Environmental Resources Trust
(Alden Hathaway – Director, EcoPower Programs)
<ahathaway@verizon.net>

Friends of the Earth
(Erich Pica)
<EPica@foe.org>

Global Green U.S.A.
(Matt Petersen)
<mpetersen@globalgreen.org>

Global Possibilities
(Casey Coates Danson, President/Founder; Carolyn Ward, Managing Director)
<casey@globalpossibilities.org>

Greenpeace
(John Coequyt, Jim Riccio, Nuclear Policy Analyst)
<jim.riccio@wdc.greenpeace.org>, <john.coequyt@wdc.greenpeace.org>

Hawaii Solar Energy Association (HSEA)
(Rick Reed, President)
<sunearth@lava.net>

Local Government Commission
(Judy Corbett)
<jcorbett@lgc.org>

Local 103 I.B.E.W.
(Martin E. Aikens, Business Agent)
<Maikens@ibew103.com>

Maine Solar Energy Association
(Richard Komp PhD. President)
<sunwatt@juno.com>

Mainstay Energy
(Hoyt Hudson, CEO)
<hoyt.hudson@mainstayenergy.com>

MD-DC-VA Solar Energy Industries Association
(Peter Lowenthal)
<Plowenthal@seia.org>

Minnesotans for an Energy-Efficient Economy
(J. Drake Hamilton, Science Policy Director)
<hamilton@me3.org>

North Carolina Sustainable Energy Association
(Richard/Lonna Harkrader)
<harkrader@mindspring.com>

Northeast Energy Efficiency Partnerships
(Susan E. Coakley, Executive Director)
<scoakley@NEEP.org>

Northwest Energy Coalition
(Nancy Hirsh)
<nancy@nwenergy.org>

Nuclear Information & Resource Service
(Michael Mariotte)
<nirsnet@nirs.org>

Quality Solar
(Claudia Wentworth)
<claudia@qualitysolar.net>

Redwood Alliance
(Michael Welch)
<mwelch@redwoodalliance.org>

Renewable Energy Long Island (RELI)
(Gordian Raacke)
<Gordian@RenewableEnergyLongIsland.org>

RENEW Wisconsin
(Michael Vickerman, Executive Director)
<mvickerman@renewwisconsin.org>

San Luis Sustainability Group Architects
(Ken Haggard)
<slosg@slonet.org>

Solar Energy International (SEI)
(Johnny Weiss, Executive Director)
<johnny@solarenergy.org>

The Stella Group, Ltd.
(Scott Sklar, President)
<solarsklar@aol.com>

SustainableBusiness.com,
(Rona Fried)
<rona@sustainablebusiness.com>

Sustainable Energy and Economic Development (SEED) Coalition
(Karen Hadden, Executive Director)
<karen@seedcoalition.org>

Vermont Energy Investment Corporation
(Beth Sachs)
<BSachs@veic.org>

Voices Opposed To Environmental Racism
(Donald Keesing)
<donaldk@nirs.org>

The Vote Solar Initiative
(David Hochschild)
<david@votesolar.org>

Windustry
(Lisa Daniels, Executive Director)
<lisadaniels@windustry.org>

Wisconsin Energy Conservation Corporation
(Janet Brandt, Executive Director)
<jbrandt@weccusa.org>

Wisconsin Green Building Alliance
(Constance A. Lindholm, Executive Director)
<connielindholm@wgba.org>

Women in Sustainable Energy (WISE)
(Kimberly Peterson)
<kimberly_peterson@yahoo.com>