On Thursday, Oct. 30, the Senate voted on Senate Bill 139, better known as the McCain-Lieberman Climate Stewardship Act, which aimed to cap industrial greenhouse gas emissions and establish a system for swapping emissions credits. The legislation represented the first serious congressional attempt to rein in global warming. It lost by a vote of 55 to 43, but environmentalists and backers of the bill still found cause to rejoice in the unexpectedly narrow defeat, a sure sign that the battle has only begun. Below you can find out how your senators voted on this landmark legislation — and then you can encourage them to change their mind or keep up the good work next time the issue arises.

Daniel Akaka (Hawaii)
Evan Bayh (Ind.)
Joseph Biden (Del.)
Jeff Bingaman (N.M.)
Barbara Boxer (Calif.)
Maria Cantwell (Wash.)
Thomas Carper (Del.)
Hillary Clinton (N.Y.)
Jon Corzine (N.J.)
Thomas Daschle (S.D.)
Mark Dayton (Minn.)
Christopher Dodd (Conn.)
Richard Durbin (Ill.)
Russell Feingold (Wis.)
Dianne Feinstein (Calif.)
Bob Graham (Fla.)
Tom Harkin (Iowa)
Ernest Hollings (S.C.)
Daniel Inouye (Hawaii)
Tim Johnson (S.D.)
Edward Kennedy (Mass.)
John Kerry (Mass.)
Herb Kohl (Wis.)
Frank Lautenberg (N.J.)
Patrick Leahy (Vt.)
Joseph Lieberman (Conn.)
Barbara Mikulski (Md.)
Patty Murray (Wash.)
Bill Nelson (Fla.)
Jack Reed (R.I.)
Harry Reid (Nev.)
John Rockefeller (W.Va.)
Paul Sarbanes (Md.)
Charles Schumer (N.Y.)
Debbie Stabenow (Mich.)
Ron Wyden (Ore.)

James Jeffords (Vt.)

Reader support helps sustain our work. Donate today to keep our climate news free. All donations DOUBLED!

Lincoln Chafee (R.I.)
Susan Collins (Maine)
Judd Gregg (N.H.)
Richard Lugar (Ind.)
John McCain (Ariz.)
Olympia Snowe (Maine)

Grist thanks its sponsors. Become one.

Max Baucus (Mont.)
John Breaux (La.)
Robert Byrd (W.Va.)
Kent Conrad (N.D.)
Byron Dorgan (N.D.)
Mary Landrieu (La.)
Carl Levin (Mich.)
Blanche Lincoln (Ark.)
Zell Miller (Ga.)
Mark Pryor (Ark.)

Lamar Alexander (Tenn.)
Wayne Allard (Colo.)
George Allen (Va.)
Robert Bennett (Utah)
Christopher Bond (Mo.)
Sam Brownback (Kan.)
Jim Bunning (Ky.)
Conrad Burns (Mont.)
Ben Campbell (Colo.)
Saxby Chambliss (Ga.)
Thad Cochran (Miss.)
Norm Coleman (Minn)
John Cornyn (Texas)
Larry Craig (Idaho)
Michael Crapo (Idaho)
Mike DeWine (Ohio)
Elizabeth Dole (N.C.)

Pete Domenici (N.M.)
John Ensign (Nev.)
Michael Enzi (Wyo.)
Peter Fitzgerald (Ill.)
Bill Frist (Tenn.)
Lindsey Graham (S.C.)
Chuck Grassley (Iowa)
Chuck Hagel (Neb.)
Orrin Hatch (Utah)
Kay Hutchison (Texas)
James Inhofe (Okla.)
Jon Kyl (Ariz.)
Trent Lott (Miss.)
Mitch McConnell (Ky.)
Lisa Murkowski (Alaska)
Don Nickles (Okla.)
Pat Roberts (Kansas)
Rick Santorum (Penn.)
Jeff Sessions (Ala.)
Richard Shelby (Ala.)
Gordon Smith (Ore.)
Arlen Specter (Penn.)
Ted Stevens (Alaska)
John Sununu (N.H.)
James Talent (Mo.)
Craig Thomas (Wyo.)
George Voinovich (Ohio)
John Warner (Va.)

John Edwards (N.C.)
Ben Nelson (Neb.)

Grist thanks its sponsors. Become one.