One day after declining to support tougher fuel-efficiency standards, the Senate yesterday voted down a measure that would have required 20 percent of the nation’s electricity to be produced from wind, solar, and other renewable energy sources by 2020. Currently, less than 2 percent of U.S. electricity comes from renewable resources. The measure that could have changed all that, which was sponsored by Jim Jeffords (I-Vt.), was defeated by a disheartening 70 votes to 29. How did your senators vote on Amendment 3017? Odds are, badly — but see for yourself.

Amendment 3017


Reader support helps sustain our work. Donate today to keep our climate news free.
Max Baucus (D-Mont.) Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.)
Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.) Lincoln Chafee (R-R.I.)
Hillary Clinton (D-N.Y.) Susan Collins (R-Maine)
Jon Corzine (D-N.J.) Tom Daschle (D-S.D.)
Christopher Dodd (D-Conn.) Richard Durbin (D-Ill.)
Russell Feingold (D-Wis.) Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.)
Peter Fitzgerald (R-Ill.) Tom Harkin (D-Iowa)
James Jeffords (I-Vt.) Edward Kennedy (D-Mass.)
John Kerry (D-Mass.) Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.)
Joseph Lieberman (D-Conn.) Barbara Mikulski (D-Md.)
Patty Murray (D-Wash.) Jack Reed (D-R.I.)
Harry Reid (D-Nev.) Paul Sarbanes (D-Md.)
Charles Schumer (D-N.Y.) Olympia Snowe (R-Maine)
Arlen Specter (R-Pa.) Paul Wellstone (D-Minn.)
Ron Wyden (D-Ore.)

Daniel Akaka (D-Hawaii) Wayne Allard (R-Colo.)
George Allen (R-Va.) Evan Bayh (D-Ind.)
Robert Bennett (R-Utah) Joseph Biden, Jr. (D-Del.)
Jeff Bingaman (D-N.M.) Christopher Bond (R-Mo.)
John Breaux (D-La.) Sam Brownback (R-Kan.)
Jim Bunning (R-Ky.) Conrad Burns (R-Mont.)
Robert Byrd (D-W.Va.) Ben Nighthorse Campbell (R-Colo.)
Jean Carnahan (D-Mo.) Thomas Carper (D-Del.)
Max Cleland (D-Ga.) Thad Cochran (R-Miss.)
Kent Conrad (D-N.D.) Larry Craig (R-Idaho)
Mike Crapo (R-Idaho) Mark Dayton (D-Minn.)
Mike DeWine (R-Ohio) Pete Domenici (R-N.M.)
Byron Dorgan (D-N.D.) John Edwards (D-N.C.)
John Ensign ( R-Nev.) Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.)
William Frist (R-Tenn.) Bob Graham (D-Fla.)
Phil Gramm (R-Texas) Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa)
Judd Gregg (R-N.H.) Charles Hagel (R-Neb.)
Orrin Hatch (R-Utah) Jesse Helms (R-N.C.)
Ernest Hollings (D-S.C.) Tim Hutchinson (R-Ark.)
Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-Texas) James Inhofe (R-Okla.)
Daniel Inouye (D-Hawaii) Tim Johnson (D-S.D.)
Herb Kohl (D-Wis.) Jon Kyl (R-Ariz.)
Mary Landrieu (D-La.) Carl Levin (D-Mich.)
Blanche Lincoln (D-Ark.) Trent Lott (R-Miss.)
Richard Lugar (R-Ind.) John McCain (R-Ariz.)
Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) Zell Miller (D-Ga.)
Frank Murkowski (R-Alaska) Ben Nelson (D-Neb.)
Bill Nelson (D-Fla.) Don Nickles (R-Okla.)
Pat Roberts (R-Kan.) John Rockefeller IV (D-W.Va.)
Rick Santorum (R-Pa.) Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.)
Richard Shelby (R-Ala.) Bob Smith (R-N.H.)
Gordon Smith (R-Ore.) Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.)
Ted Stevens (R-Alaska) Craig Thomas (R-Wyo.)
Fred Thompson (R-Tenn.) Strom Thurmond (R-S.C.)
George Voinovich (R-Ohio) John Warner (R-Va.)

Grist thanks its sponsors. Become one.