A massive energy bill backed by the Bush administration stalled out in the Senate this morning, when its supporters failed to garner the necessary 60 votes to end debate on the legislation. Only 57 senators voted to halt debate; 40 voted to keep it going. Those in favor of the bill, which has already been passed by the House, say it would increase and diversify energy sources and help some farmers by encouraging the use of corn-based ethanol fuel. Opponents call it an expensive, environmentally unfriendly grab bag for special interests. Find out how your senators voted on the bill in the list below. (But if you live in Tennessee, don’t be fooled by Senate Majority Leader Bill Frist’s apparent opposition to the bill; in reality, Frist was an ardent backer and vowed to keep his colleagues “voting [on the bill] until we pass it.” When it became clear that he wasn’t going to gain enough votes to end debate, however, Frist switched sides in order to be able to raise the issue again in the future.)


Max Baucus (Mont.)
John Breaux (La.)
Kent Conrad (N.D.)
Thomas Daschle (S.D.)
Mark Dayton (Minn.)
Byron Dorgan (N.D.)
Tom Harkin (Iowa)
Tim Johnson (S.D.)
Mary Landrieu (La.)
Blanche Lincoln (Ark.)
Zell Miller (Ga.)
Ben Nelson (Neb.)
Mark Pryor (Ark.)

Reader support helps sustain our work. Donate today to keep our climate news free. All donations DOUBLED!

Lamar Alexander (Tenn.)
Wayne Allard (Colo.)
George Allen (Va.)
Robert Bennett (Utah)
Christopher Bond (Mo.)
Sam Brownback (Kan.)
Jim Bunning (Ky.)
Conrad Burns (Mont.)
Ben Campbell (Colo.)
Saxby Chambliss (Ga.)
Thad Cochran (Miss.)
Norm Coleman (Minn.)
John Cornyn (Texas)
Larry Craig (Idaho)
Michael Crapo (Idaho)

Mike DeWine (Ohio)
Elizabeth Dole (N.C.)
Pete Domenici (N.M.)
John Ensign (Nev.)
Michael Enzi (Wyo.)
Peter Fitzgerald (Ill.)
Lindsey Graham (S.C.)
Chuck Grassley (Iowa)
Chuck Hagel (Neb.)
Orrin Hatch (Utah)
Kay Hutchison (Texas)
James Inhofe (Okla.)
Jon Kyl (Ariz.)
Trent Lott (Miss.)
Richard Lugar (Ind.)
Mitch McConnell (Ky.)
Lisa Murkowski (Alaska)
Don Nickles (Okla.)
Pat Roberts (Kansas)
Rick Santorum (Penn.)
Jeff Sessions (Ala.)
Richard Shelby (Ala.)
Gordon Smith (Ore.)
Arlen Specter (Penn.)
Ted Stevens (Alaska)
James Talent (Mo.)
Craig Thomas (Wyo.)
George Voinovich (Ohio)
John Warner (Va.)

Grist thanks its sponsors. Become one.


Daniel Akaka (Hawaii)
Evan Bayh (Ind.)
Joseph Biden (Del.)
Jeff Bingaman (N.M.)
Barbara Boxer (Calif.)
Robert Byrd (W.Va.)
Maria Cantwell (Wash.)
Thomas Carper (Del.)
Hillary Clinton (N.Y.)
Jon Corzine (N.J.)
Christopher Dodd (Conn.)
Richard Durbin (Ill.)
Russell Feingold (Wis.)
Dianne Feinstein (Calif.)
Bob Graham (Fla.)
Daniel Inouye (Hawaii)
Edward Kennedy (Mass.)
Herb Kohl (Wis.)
Frank Lautenberg (N.J.)
Patrick Leahy (Vt.)
Carl Levin (Mich.)
Joseph Lieberman (Conn.)
Barbara Mikulski (Md.)
Patty Murray (Wash.)
Bill Nelson (Fla.)
Jack Reed (R.I.)
Harry Reid (Nev.)
John Rockefeller (W.Va.)
Paul Sarbanes (Md.)
Charles Schumer (N.Y.)
Debbie Stabenow (Mich.)
Ron Wyden (Ore.)

James Jeffords (Vt.)

Lincoln Chafee (R.I.)
Susan Collins (Maine)
Bill Frist (Tenn.)
Judd Gregg (N.H.)
John McCain (Ariz.)
Olympia Snowe (Maine)
John Sununu (N.H.)

Grist thanks its sponsors. Become one.


John Edwards (N.C.)
Ernest Hollings (S.C.)
John Kerry (Mass.)