Muckraker: Grist on Politics

The ad wars over the Lieberman-Warner Climate Security Act continue: Environmental Defense Fund has just released new ads in support of the legislation. They show a man being struck by falling barrels of oil, telling viewers to call their senators and ask them to support the bill.

“By telling special interests they can’t pollute for free, the Climate Security Act will spur investment in cleaner technology, it will create manufacturing jobs and help end our oil addiction by expanding renewable energy,” say the ads, airing in 15 states. “Don’t let special interests win and America lose.”

Just like the anti-CSA ads being aired by the Club for Growth, EDF’s ads are aimed at key swing votes on the bill. Targets include Sens. Debbie Stabenow and Carl Levin, both Michigan Democrats who have expressed an interest in altering the bill to shield the auto industry. EDF is also targeting 25 other senators (see the whole list below the fold), as well as influential House members like Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.), Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (D-Md.), Energy and Commerce Committee Chair John Dingell (D-Mich.), Minority Leader John Boehner (R-Ohio), and Minority Whip Roy Blunt (R-Mo.).

Grist thanks its sponsors. Become one.

EDF has spent $8.5 million on advertising to promote the climate legislation, including $4 million on these new ads, according to reports ($ub. req’d). Tony Kreindler, EDF’s media director for climate, posted earlier on the reasons his organization wants to see the Climate Security Act passed this year.

See the Michigan ad, and the list of targeted senators, below the fold:

Arkansas: Blanche Lincoln (D) and Mark Pryor (D)
Colorado: Wayne Allard (R) and Ken Salazar (D)
Florida: Mel Martinez (R)
Indiana: Richard Lugar (R) and Evan Bayh (D)
Missouri: Kit Bond (R) and Claire McCaskill (D)
Nebraska: Chuck Hagel (R) and Ben Nelson (D)
New Hampshire: Judd Gregg (R) and John Sununu (R)
New Mexico: Pete Domenici (R) and Jeff Bingaman (D)
North Carolina: Richard Burr (R)
North Dakota: Kent Conrad (D) and Byron Dorgan (D)
Ohio: George Voinovich (R) and Sherrod Brown (D)
Pennsylvania: Arlen Specter (R) and Democrat Robert Casey (D)
Tennessee: Lamar Alexander (R) and Bob Corker (R)
Virginia: Jim Webb (D)

Reader support helps sustain our work. Donate today to keep our climate news free.

Grist thanks its sponsors. Become one.