Climate CitizensTrack the debate and take action >>>

UPDATED: 9 Oct 2009

The House already passed the American Clean Energy and Security Act (aka Waxman-Markey), so now the ball is in the Senate’s court.  Sens. John Kerry (D-Mass.) and Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.) introduced a climate bill on Sept. 30.

For now, here’s a quick breakdown of who’s likely to support and oppose a climate bill, and the many senators who haven’t made their positions clear. This list is not definitive; it is based on Grist staffers’ knowledge of senators’ records and public statements. We’ll be updating it, and we encourage readers to help out by writing to your senators and telling us what they say.

Grist thanks its sponsors. Become one.

Likely Supporters (34)

Daniel Akaka (D-Hawaii)
Jeff Bingaman (D-N.M.)
Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.)
Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.)
Ben Cardin (D-Md.)
Thomas R. Carper (D-Del.)
Christopher Dodd (D-Conn.)
Richard Durbin (D-Ill.)
Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.)
Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.)
Tom Harkin (D-Iowa)
Daniel Inouye (D-Hawaii)
Ted Kaufman (D-Del.)
John Kerry (D-Mass.)
Paul Kirk (D-Mass.)
Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.)
Herb Kohl (D-Wis.)
Frank Lautenberg (D-N.J.)
Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.)
Joe Lieberman (I-Conn.)
Bob Menendez (D-N.J.)
Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.)
Barbara Mikulski (D-Md.)
Patty Murray (D-Wash.)
Bill Nelson (D-Fla.)
Jack Reed (D-R.I.)
Harry Reid (D-Nev.)
Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.)
Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.)
Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.)
Mark Udall (D-Colo.)
Tom Udall (D-N.M.)
Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.)
Ron Wyden (D-Ore.)

Likely Opponents (28)

John Barrasso (R-Wyo.)
Robert Foster Bennett (R-Utah)
Kit Bond (R-Mo.)
Jim Bunning (R-Ky.)
Richard Burr (R-N.C.)
Saxby Chambliss (R-Ga.)
Thad Cochran (R-Miss.)
Tom Coburn (R-Okla.)
John Cornyn (R-Texas)
Mike Crapo (R-Idaho)
Jim DeMint (R-S.C.)
John Ensign (R-Nev.)
Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.)
Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.)
Orrin Hatch (R-Utah)
Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-Texas)
Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.)
Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.)
Mike Johanns (R-Neb.)
Jon Kyl (R-Ariz.)
Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.)
Jim Risch (R-Idaho)
Pat Roberts (R-Kan.)
Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.)
Richard Shelby (R-Ala.)
John Thune (R-S.D.)
David Vitter (R-La.)
Roger Wicker (R-Miss.)


Undecided/Unknown (37)

Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.)
Max Baucus (D-Mont.)
Evan Bayh (D-Ind.)
Mark Begich (D-Alaska)
Michael Bennet (D-Colo.)
Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio)
Sam Brownback (R-Kan.)
Roland Burris (D-Ill.)
Robert Byrd (D-W.Va.)
Bob Casey, Jr. (D-Pa.)
Susan Collins (R-Maine)
Kent Conrad (D-N.D.)
Bob Corker (R-Tenn.)
Byron Dorgan (D-N.D.)
Russ Feingold (D-Wis.)
Al Franken (D-Minn.)
Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa)
Judd Gregg (R-N.H.)
Kay Hagan (D-N.C.)
Tim Johnson (D-S.D.)
Mary Landrieu (D-La.)
George LeMieux (R-Fla.)
Carl Levin (D-Mich.)
Blanche Lincoln (D-Ark.)
Richard Lugar (R-Ind.)
John McCain (R-Ariz.)
Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.)
Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska)
Ben Nelson (D-Neb.)
Mark Pryor (D-Ark.)
Jay Rockefeller (D-W.Va.)
Olympia Snowe (R-Maine)
Arlen Specter (D-Pa.)
Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.)
Jon Tester (D-Mont.)
George Voinovich (R-Ohio)
Mark Warner (D-Va.)
Jim Webb (D-Va.)

Grist thanks its sponsors. Become one.


Reader support helps sustain our work. Donate today to keep our climate news free.