Lisa Jackson.

EPA Administrator: Lisa Jackson (not officially announced)

Grist thanks its sponsors. Become one.

Background on Jackson.

Some enviros have been critical of Jackson — get the story.

Steven Chu.

Grist thanks its sponsors. Become one.

Secretary of Energy: Steven Chu (not officially announced)

Background on Chu.

Watch Chu talk about climate change and renewable energy.

Carol Browner.

Energy Czar: Carol Browner (not officially announced)

Background on Browner.

Browner, who was EPA administrator during the entire Clinton administration, has been a long-time acolyte of Al Gore.

Nancy Sutley.

Chair of Council on Environmental Quality: Nancy Sutley (not officially announced)

Background on Sutley.

Hillary Clinton.

Secretary of State: Hillary Clinton

Clinton — who will be overseeing international climate negotiations — had a strong climate and energy platform during her presidential run.

Read a 2007 interview with Clinton.

Bill Richardson.

Secretary of Commerce: Bill Richardson

Richardson will be charged with creating jobs, both green and otherwise, and with overseeing the National Atmospheric and Oceanic Administration. He had an ambitious climate and energy platform during his presidential run, and has been an advocate for clean energy and climate action during his tenure as governor of New Mexico. In nominating him, Obama cited his experience as secretary of energy in the Clinton administration.

Read a 2007 interview with Richardson.

Janet Napolitano.

Secretary of Homeland Security: Janet Napolitano

Napolitano has spoken out against the border wall that divides Arizona from Mexico; the wall has been found detrimental to the environment.

James L. Jones.

National Security Advisor: James L. Jones

Some environmentalists are worried about Jones, noting that he serves on the board of Chevron Corp. and is head of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce’s Institute for 21st Century Energy, which is often at odds with enviros over energy issues.

Read up on Jones’ energy views and how they may or may not matter within the National Security Council.

Peter R. Orszag.

Director of the Office of Management and Budget: Peter Orszag

Read about Orszag’s views on curbing greenhouse-gas emissions.

Rahm Emanuel.

Chief of Staff: Rahm Emanuel

Emanuel — who will be charged with running the White House and implementing the president agenda — got high marks from the League of Conservation Voters during his time in the U.S. House.

Secretary of Interior


Secretary of Agriculture


Secretary of Transportation

  • Earl Blumenauer, Democratic representative from Oregon
  • Steve Heminger, executive director of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission for the Bay Area
  • Ed Rendell, governor of Pennsylvania
  • James Oberstar, Democratic representative from Minnesota and chair of the House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure
  • Peter DeFazio, Democratic representative from Oregon and chair of the House Subcommittee on Highways and Transit
  • Janette Sadik-Kahn, commissioner of the New York City Department of Transportation
  • Jane Garvey, former head of Federal Aviation Administration
  • Mortimer Downey, deputy transportation secretary under President Clinton